Arsenic and Health: Breast Cancer

Environmental Contamina

Environmental Contaminants and Health: Breast Cancer

Some environmental contaminates are known human carcinogen that are present in the air and drinking water.  Some are known to induce chromosomal and DNA damage.  Studies on experimental models have indicated that there may be a link between these pollutants and certain types of cancers.

In the Northern part of Mexico, two characteristics have been identified that have lead to this collaborative study.  These characteristics include high levels of natural occurring metalloids and high incidents of breast cancer in women.  Thus, the simultaneous effects of environmental, dietary, and genetic traits may play a role in the occurrence of breast cancer in the U.S.-Mexico Border region.

The main goal of this collaborative project is to determine the genetic and environmental susceptibility factors that lead to high breast cancer incidents in this region. The objective is to evaluate the relationship between metalloid exposure and breast cancer.  

The collaborative research project was implemented in the Mexican portion of the Border region. The specific states are:

  • Chihuahua
  • Coahuila
  • Durango
  • Nuevo Leon
  • Sonora

Project Contacts:

Dr. A. Jay Gandolfi

The University of Arizona

Principal Investigator - U.S.

gandolfi@pharmacy.arizona.edu

Dr. Walter Klimecki
The University of Arizona
Principal Investigator – U.S.
walt@resp-sci.arizona.edu
Dr. Mariano E. Cebrian Garcia
Centro de Investigación y de Estudios Avanzados
Principal Investigator – Mexico
mcebrian@cinvestav.mx
Dr. Lizbeth Teresita Lopez Carrillo
Instituto Nacional de Salud Publica
Investigator - Mexico
lizbeth@insp.mx

Dr. Marcia V. Galvan-Portillo
Instituto Nacional de Salud Publica
Investigator - Mexico
mgalvan@correo.insp.mx

Dr. Mary Kay O’Rourke
The University of Arizona
Investigator - U.S.
mkor@email.arizona.edu

Dr. Robin Harris
The University of Arizona
Investigator - U.S.

rbharris@email.arizona.edu

Dr. Richard R. Vaillancourt
The University of Arizona
Investigator - Mexico
vaillancourt@pharmacy.arizona.edu
Dr. Bernard F. Futscher
The University of Arizona
Investigator - U.S.
bfutscher@azcc.arizona.edu